John Goldson – Black Belt

Well I have to say it was a momentous day yesterday for GB Sheffield, I am so sorry I could not make it down but I am on the comeback trail and I will be back to the next Lagarto session all being well.

Why was it such a big day well there were quite a few belts handed out:

Young Jake received his Orange belt and I am pretty sure he is a black belt in the making that boy

Blue Belts went to Naz the Samurai, Adam, Dimitri and Kyle which is a great achievement and well deserved by all.

Also a number of stripes were given out, and my good friend and brother in arms Chaz got his second stripe which is fantastic and makes me feel better about the fact that he so frequently kicks my ass 🙂

However the big news of the day has to be this:

 

pic courtesy of Gregg Rodgers

 

Our coach and a man who has given me so much support and help through the last 2 and a bit years received his black belt and received it from a great in the sport Lagarto.  This is such a well deserved achievement as John has worked so hard both personally but far more so for the sport both at the gym and in the north of the UK in general.  He has done all this in a selfless and tireless manner never in it for anything other than the love of the sport.  I am so sorry I was not there to see it but will continue to train with John and will see him tonight in his first full session as a black belt.

This is the goal that we all aim for and very few will make it all the way and it is something that John I am sure and all of us at the forge are immensely proud of and we will all go from strength to strength as a family and a team.

5 Comments

Filed under Black Belt, forge, John Goldson, Lagarto

5 responses to “John Goldson – Black Belt

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention John Goldson – Black Belt | Big Stew's BJJ Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. Nice post man, appriciate the support. Im sure if you could have been there you too would have been promoted big man. We are all here to help you on your way back to training.

    chaz

  3. David "Fiddy" T

    A nice post indeed. Great day for Sheffield Gracie Barra and the sport in the UK and Europe. We need more people like John in this side of the globe.

  4. Samurai Che

    Awesome day! Thanks for your help & support in helping me get my blue bro 🙂

  5. Nate

    That’s great news congrats!

Leave a comment