That time of year again

Well it is my least favourite time of year again when it gets dark early, is wet, windy and cold not much fun. Couple this with the fact that I am working more hours than I have ever done for the same reward plus the added threat of company cuts and all in all things are not too much fun.

However looking at it I also have a lot to be thankful for and a lot to look forward too not the least of which is a week’s holiday coming week after next with my girlfriend who as ever is number 1 🙂

However one of the other main things is getting back to the newly designed and kitted out Forge which looks great in pictures and I am told is even better in reality. Though the new matting makes shrimping an even worse experience I am told as it adds quite a few on to the run 🙂

But the new cage and setup all looks awesome and I hope to get back on Saturday as rolling and the whole thing does really release those happy endorphins and adds the bruises too 🙂

My new early morning gym regime with Greggor, Rob and Damo and Ross when they can is also doing me good and means that at least when I am at work too late to get to rolling I am at least doing something. It is also nice to work out with someone who is as strong as me (nearly ;-)) and as daft so will always just try that extra few Kg.

I am setting myself some serious goals that I am going to do a few things by I hit 34 which is April

1) get below 20st (22 currently)
2) get another comp medal somewhere (UMA in dec my first target)
3) try and earn another stripe
4) push Gregg and I over the 400Lbs limit for a dead lift (just for fun) 70Lbs to go

So these are serious and I have my mind set on them as something to focus me and to keep me thinking in the right direction. I will update them as I go on each week, next week normal service will be resumed with a post about the new forge and some other random meanderings.

“We are not content with negative obedience, nor even with the most abject submission. When finally you surrender to us, it must be of your own free will. We do not destroy the heretic because he resists us; so long as he resists us we never destroy him. We convert him, we capture his inner mind, we reshape him. We burn all evil and all illusion out of him; we bring him over to our side, not in appearance, but genuinely, heart and soul. We make him one of ourselves before we kill him. It is intolerable to us that an erroneous thought should exist anywhere in the world, however secret and powerless it may be. Even in the instance of death we cannot permit any deviation . . . we make the brain perfect before we blow it out.”

2 Comments

Filed under BJJ, forge, mma

2 responses to “That time of year again

  1. Samurai Che

    that there 1994 were a top book i tell thee 😉

    see you saturday brother. pain train woooo wooooo! lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

